Health Tech Awards 2022: First group of judges revealed

HTN is delighted to announce the first group of judges confirmed to support the Health Tech Awards 2022.

Following an open invitation, we were overwhelmed with the response to support the awards judging process this year. We wanted to bring together a wide group of people from different organisations, healthcare settings, and professions and backgrounds.

We are really pleased to announce our judges, who come from organisations ranging from St Helens and Knowsley NHS Teaching Hospitals, Northern Lincolnshire and Goole NHS FT, The Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Circle Health Group, NHS England, Health Education England, and Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust.

Here we announce and welcome our first group of judges – with a further group to be announced later this month! If you would like to apply, we would love to hear from you – find out more here.

Our first 40 judges, include:

  • Alex Aucutt-Ford, Head of Information, Quality and Resilience, Spencer Private Hospitals
  • Ananya Datta, Programme Lead Digital First, Surrey Heartlands CCG
  • Andy Cairns, Commercial Programme Manager, Innovation Agency
  • Anita Day, Vice Chair, Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS
  • Ben Richards, Executive Director of Operations, North Staffordshire Combined Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Catherine Gamble, Associate Director of Nursing, South West London and St George’s MH NHS Trust
  • Christine Walters, Director of Informatics, St Helens and Knowsley NHS Teaching Hospitals
  • Cleveland Henry, Group Delivery and Deployment Director, EMIS
  • David Newey, Deputy CIO, The Royal Marsden NHS FT
  • Dawn Greaves, Digital Programme Manager, West Yorkshire Health and Care Partnership
  • Devina Maru, National Medical Director’s Clinical Fellow, GP Speciality Registrar, Care Quality Commission
  • Dimitri Varsamis, Senior Policy Lead – Digital Primary Care, NHS England
  • Dr Farhana Ferdousi Liza, Lecturer, University of East Anglia
  • Gavin Newman, Digital Programme Manager  The Royal Orthopaedic Hospital
  • Gurkaran Samra, Clinical Informatician and AMU Consultant, Blackpool Teaching Hospital
  • Helen Tait, Region Director – Integrated Care and Healthfirst, Circle Health Group
  • Henrietta Mbeah-Bankas, Head of Blended Learning and Digital Learning and Development Lead, Health Education England
  • James Davis, Chief Innovation Officer, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust
  • Jenny Chong, Non-Executive Director, Medway NHS Foundation Trust
  • Joana Franca, Clinical IT Facilitator, University Hospitals of Leicester
  • John McKiernan, Senior Project Manager, St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (Mid Mersey Digital Alliance)
  • Jonathan Patton, Chairman, South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust
  • June Pace, Practice Manager Lead for Mental Health (Adults and Children), SCCG
  • Karen Bowley, Matron, The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust
  • Karla Richards, Innovation Project Manager, Health Innovation Network, London
  • Lisa Edge Davies, Senior Patient Experience Manager, Pfizer
  • Liz Ashall-Payne, CEO, ORCHA Healthcare
  • Maddy Phipps-Taylor, CEO, Eva Health Technologies
  • Neesa Mangalaparath, Programme Manager, NHS England
  • Nicola Lucey, Chief Nursing Officer, Dorset County Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Nithin Narayan, Clinical Lead in Acute Medicine, Bolton NHS FT
  • Richard Gladman, Non Executive Director, Leeds Community Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Roaa Salman, Senior specialist, Health Informatics, Department of Heath
  • Roberto Tamsanguan, Clinical Advisor, NHS England
  • Ruby Bhatti OBE, a public contributor who supports lay views at NIHR, NHS England and at various universities
  • Shauna McMahon, Chief Information Officer, Northern Lincolnshire and Goole NHS FT
  • Simon Parsons, Consultant General Surgeon and digital transformation lead, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Simon Brunner, EHR Clinical Systems Designer/Analyst, University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sunil Gupta, GP and Vice Chair of East of England Clinical Senate Council, East of England Clinical Senate Council.

 Key dates

  • Entry deadline: 23 June 2022 – midnight  [fixed]
  • Finalists announced: 13 September 2022
  • Digital awards evening: 13 October 2022

Find out more

If you are interested in supporting the awards or sponsoring, please contact for more information.

Find out about the categories, how to enter and the key dates here